What is the National Women’s Hall of Fame?

The National Women’s Hall of Fame is the nation’s oldest membership organization dedicated to honoring and celebrating the achievements of distinguished American women. The Hall uses the stories of its Inductees as tools for inspiration, innovation and imagination. A not-for-profit educational institution, its programs include Induction Weekend, educational programs, and special exhibits and events.

What is the Hall of Fame’s mission?

The mission of the Hall of Fame is “Showcasing great women…Inspiring all!”

How many women have been inducted into the Hall of Fame?

There have been 266 women inducted into the Hall. For a complete list of Inductees, click here.

How are women chosen as Inductees?

In order to be considered for Induction, a woman must first be nominated. Anyone may nominate an American citizen for induction. To read more about the nomination criteria and instructions or to complete a nomination form, click here. Nominations will be reviewed for accuracy and compliance by the Hall’s staff. You will receive confirmation that your nomination has been received. If your nomination is incomplete or cannot be sent on for judging, you will be notified. Nominations are then forwarded to a National Judges Panel for scoring on the basis of the value of the nominee’s contribution(s) to the development of the United States of America, the significant national or global impact of their achievement(s), and the enduring value of their achievement(s). The National Judges Panel is comprised of distinguished citizens and representatives from respected national organizations. In order to maintain an objective process, the Staff and Board members of the National Women’s Hall of Fame do not participate as judges.

Where is the Hall of Fame located and why?

The National Women’s Hall of Fame was founded in 1969 in historic Seneca Falls, New York, the birthplace of the American Women’s Rights Movement. Here, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Lucretia Mott and 300 others gathered at the first Women’s Rights Convention in 1848. The Declaration of Sentiments was presented, debated and passed by the convention. This Declaration included, among other demands, that women have the right to vote. The struggle for American women’s rights had begun. In 1920, the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution granting women the right to vote was passed. Also, in Seneca Falls in 1923, Alice Paul called for the passage of the Equal Rights Amendment.

The Hall’s founders established the National Women’s Hall of Fame in Seneca Falls, New York believing that the contributions of American women deserved a permanent home. In 1979, the Hall moved to its current quarters, a historic bank building in the heart of the Seneca Falls Historic District.

What kinds of programs does the Hall of Fame sponsor?

The Hall sponsors Induction Weekend where distinguished American women are celebrated for their significant contributions to society; exhibits and artifacts honoring Inductees; educational programs, including visiting authors, lecturers and programs of special interest; tours for visiting groups and schools; and events throughout National Women’s History Month each March and Convention Days each July. The Hall also features the Book of Lives & Legacies, a unique way to honor an outstanding woman in your own life. Recognize a mother, colleague, teacher or friend with a wall plaque and tribute letter displayed in our gallery at 76 Fall Street and on our website at womenofthehall.org.

How does the Hall of Fame operate?

As a not-for-profit membership organization, the Hall is led by a volunteer Board of Directors and managed by a CEO, along with other staff who implement Board policy.

Who are the Hall of Fame’s members?

Members of the Hall of Fame come from every walk of life and from all parts of the country. There are several levels of Hall membership ranging from Senior/Student ($15 membership fee) to Lifetime ($5,000 membership fee). All members receive unlimited free admission to the Hall’s gallery exhibit and research center, a subscription to the Hall’s newsletter, Inspiration, Ink., a discount in the Hall’s physical and virtual gift shops, invitations to Hall events, special member pricing at Hall events, and monthly e-blasts with current news and information. Click here to see the benefits of each level of membership.

Besides membership dues, how is the Hall of Fame funded?

The Hall is also supported by admissions, gift shop sales, special events, individual donations, corporate donations, foundation gifts and grants. Contributions are tax-deductible to the fullest extent allowed by law.

How do I order tickets for Induction Weekend?

Visit our event calendar to purchase tickets for Induction Weekend or call the Hall at 315.568.8060 to place your order over the phone.

What makes a good nomination?

Nominations must be completely researched, with all questions answered fully and sources cited. Please be as objective as possible when writing a nomination. Supporting materials are not sent on to the judges. Click here to complete a nomination form.

Does the Hall induct living or deceased women?

The National Women’s Hall of Fame honors both living and deceased Inductees.

Can you help me contact one of the Inductees?

The National Women’s Hall of Fame does not share Inductee contact information.

Can I use information and photographs from your website? How do I cite your website?

Text from our website may be used with permission and cited as “National Women’s Hall 
of Fame, Seneca Falls, NY, 2015.” The use of photographs from our website will be 
determined on a case by case basis; please call the Hall at 315.568.8060 or email us at admin@womenofthehall.org to request permission.

How are you related to other women’s sites like the National Women’s History Museum and the Women’s Rights National Historical Park?

Although we are a separate entity, the National Women’s Hall of Fame applauds the efforts of other organizations dedicated to recognizing women and their achievements. For more information on the Women’s Rights National Historical Park and the Golden Passport Program, click here.